Anzeige | Advertising | Imprint | data protection

Inaugural general assembly of IFOAM Asia

by Redaktion (comments: 0)

The inaugural general assembly of IFOAM Asia was held on 28 June 2013 at the Namyangju Organic Agricultural Science Museum in the Republic of Korea, Organic World reports (picture). 73 members were present (including proxy participation) from eleven Asian countries. The opening ceremony included global IFOAM President Andre Leu and the Ex-Minister of Agriculture from Korea, Mr Kim Sung Hoon. The participants unanimously voted for Mr Katsu Murayama (President of IFOAM Japan) to be the Chairperson of the General Assembly, while the role of Parliamentarian was accepted by Mr Andre Leu, IFOAM reports.

A special ceremony was also held during the General Assembly where Global Andre Leu handed Zhou Zejiang (former Global IFOAM Representative to Asia) a certificate for his new role as Honorary Ambassador of Global IFOAM. The agenda was passed with unanimous vote and the working documents of IFOAM Asia were also adopted by the participants. Perhaps the most anticipated event of the assembly was the election of the IFOAM Asia Board where a total of nine candidates ran for seven positions. (Picture: The newly elected IFOAM Asia board is as follows: (left to right) Manoj Menon (India), Rasdi Wangsa (Indonesia), Zhou Zejiang (China), Suh Chong Hyuk (Korea), Shaikh Tanveer Hossain (Bangladesh), Patrick Belisario (Philippines) and Ashish Gupta (India)). More information on IFOAM Asia is available here.






Go back


Confirm email