Anzeige | Advertising | Imprint | data protection

Rapunzel’s „One World Award“ winners

by Editor (comments: 0)

OWA winners 2017

Dr Gerd Müller and Joseph Wilhelm at the bestowal of the One World Award 2017 (Photo © One World Award by Rapunzel)

On the 9th and 10th of September, Rapunzel’s One World Festival took place in Legau, Germany. As a part of the festival, Rapunzel Naturkost awarded five people with the One World Award (OWA). The prizes were handed over by Dr Gerd Müller, Germany's federal development minister, and Joseph Wilhelm, chief executive of Rapunzel.

The OWA Grand Prix as well as the prize money worth 30,000 Euro were shared by prime minister Shri Pawan Chamling from India and the United World Colleges (UWC) from Freiburg, Germany, and Pune, India. Within only 12 years, Shri Pawan Chamling managed to convert the state Sikkim completely to organic agriculture together with 65,000 farmers. Regarding their socially and sustainably orientated educational program, the United World Colleges fit the aims of the OWA “in a remarkable manner”, states Rapunzel.

With the Lifetime Achievement Award, the Ethopian scientists and environmental activists Dr Tewolde Berhan Begre Egziabher and Dr Sue Edwards were awarded for their life’s work. Furthermore, a prize money in the amount of 5,000 Euro as well as an OWA-medal each were given to Professor Amin Babayev from Azerbaijan, Nasser Abufarha (Canaan Project) from Palestine and Martha-Jean Shamiso Mungwashu from Zimbabwe.



Other Issues

Go back


Confirm email